AHP Connect Articles

AHP Connect delivers updates on industry news and research, educational and professional opportunities, best practices and other articles related to health care philanthropy.

Announcing the 2022-2023 Board of Directors

Olivia Hairfield
Published:  10/26/2022

We're excited to announce two new board members and new board executive leadership who will each help support AHP’s work inspiring, educating, and serving those transforming healthcare through philanthropy. 

Arthur J. (Art) Ochoa, JD, Senior Vice President, Advancement and Chief Advancement Officer at Cedars-Sinai, is the new board chair. He has served on the AHP board since 2019 and most recently was the board’s vice chair.

Tammy Morison, CFRE, President and Chief Executive Officer at North Bay Regional Health Centre Foundation, will now serve as the board’s vice chair. Shawn Fincher, Executive Director at Whatcom Hospice Foundation, will serve as the board’s treasurer.

Stepping down as board chair is Fred Najjar, Executive Vice President and Chief Philanthropy Officer at CommonSpirit Health. Najjar’s leadership through the COVID-19 pandemic ensured AHP was able to continue to serve its members at a difficult time for healthcare.

"It has been an honor of a lifetime to serve as board chair and serve the association that has given so much to me personally and professionally,” Najjar said. “Under Art's leadership as the incoming board chair, and with the board of directors, our membership, Alice, and the terrific staff, AHP is in great hands."

“AHP is so fortunate to have such remarkable leadership serving on our Board of Directors,” said AHP President and Chief Executive Officer Alice Ayres. “We are grateful for Fred’s steady leadership through the past two pandemic years, and we are excited for Art’s term as chair, working alongside our new and returning board members.”

AHP’s two new board members began their terms at AHP’s International Conference starting October 26th and will serve for two years:

  • Crystal Hinson Miller, MA, FAHP, CFRE, Senior Vice President and Chief Philanthropy Officer, Indiana University Health and President, IU Health Foundation; Director

  • Preston Walton, President, Alameda Health System Foundation; Director

We are also grateful to Pamela Puleo, FAHP, FCEP who has concluded her service as treasurer and a valued board member. Randy Varju, MBA, FAHP, CFRE will continue in his role as immediate past chair, and Julie E. Cox, FAHP, CFRE and Jeanne Jachim will continue to serve as directors on the board for the 2022-2023 term.

“With our very capable board and management team, AHP is well positioned to lead our field through a challenging time for healthcare and healthcare philanthropy,” said Ochoa. “Many thanks to our retiring directors and especially to our outgoing board chair Fred Najjar for extraordinary leadership during unprecedented times.”  


Meet The Author

Olivia Hairfield
Marketing Senior Manager
Association for Healthcare Philanthropy

Share This

facebook-icon twitter-icon linkedin-icon