Harold J. (Si) Seymour Award 

"Leaders are the ones who keep faith with the past, keep step with the present, and keep the promise to posterity." – Harold J. Seymour


The association's highest honor, the AHP Si Seymour Award, recognizes distinguished leadership in association affairs and in the health care philanthropy community. The award is in the name of Harold J. (Si) Seymour, one of the trailblazers in the world of philanthropy who fostered and promoted exemplary standards of excellence for volunteerism and philanthropic support. His career spanned a half-century of fundraising on behalf of many worthy causes, from the National War Fund during World War II and Harvard University to youth groups, educational institutions, health organizations and numerous community service projects. Seymour’s book, Designs for Fundraising, published in 1966 is regarded as a bible of philanthropic fundraising to this day.

Every year since 1970, AHP presents its prestigious Harold J. (Si) Seymour Award to development professionals whose careers reflect excellence and outstanding leadership in health care philanthropy. This award is given annually and presented each year at the AHP International Conference.

Award Criteria 

The Award Committee uses six criteria in determining the winner. The candidate should:

  • Be a member in good standing, or a representative of a member firm in good standing, who has maintained development professional membership for a minimum of 10 years during his or her career
  • Be a successful fund raiser, demonstrated by documented dollars raised
  • Have a statesmanlike quality, embodying the recognized traits of leadership in our profession
  • Represent the profession well to other professionals and to the candidate's community
  • Have made continuing contributions to the association by holding office, publishing articles, teaching at conferences, etc.
  • Have improved in some way the level of professionalism in the association
Nominees are reconsidered for a two year period and then applications must be resubmitted.

2016 AHP Si Seymour Award Winner

David B. Gillig, FAHP
Senior Consultant & Principal
Marts & Lundy, Inc.
San Diego, CA

David joined Marts & Lundy in February 2013 as a Senior Consultant & Principal following 31 years overseeing programs that generated more than $635 million in philanthropy.  His practice is concentrated in health sciences serving children’s hospitals, health systems and academic medical centers. 

A graduate of Westmont College in Santa Barbara with a B.A. in Economics & Business, David began his healthcare development career in 1981 at The Rehabilitation Institute of Santa Barbara as its first chief development and marketing officer.

In 1987, David was appointed Vice President of Development for Scripps Memorial Hospitals, where he produced and implemented planning for the nation’s first $100 million comprehensive campaign for a community hospital system. In 1993, David became Senior Vice President Scripps Foundation for Medicine & Science.

Late in 1993, David joined Rady Children’s Hospital as Senior Vice President and Foundation Executive Director where he was responsible for philanthropy development, hospital-wide marketing communications and volunteer services. Two campaigns of $140 million and $220 million were successfully completed during his tenure. In 2006, David led efforts to secure what was then the second largest gift to a children’s hospital in history —$60 million — which resulted in the naming of the hospital for the Rady family.
David has been an active member of AHP, including:
Member and Treasurer of the AHP Board of Directors
Regional conference chair
Fellow in 1991
Member of the Board of Accreditation
Fellow Examination Chair
Member of the Strategic Planning Committee
Frequent speaker at international and regional conferences
Faculty of the AHP Madison Institute since 1999, and Dean of the Fundraising Management Track since 2000

David was one of the early leaders of the Woodmark Group, a consortium of North America’s leading children’s hospitals, for which he served as chair of the board of directors, founder and chair of the benchmarking program, chair of the North American Children’s Circle of Care Conference and Gala, and chair of the North American Philanthropy Forum.  He also served on the board of directors of Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals.  

An active Rotarian for many years, David was a co-founder and member of the board of directors of the Rotary Club of Santa Barbara Sunrise, and served on the board of directors and as president of the Rotary Club of La Jolla.  

David lives in San Diego and Washington, D.C. with his wife, Pam King Sams.  He is the proud parent of Beth, Laura and Evan, and proud grandfather of Grace and Lainey. 

Previous Winners

Mr. R. Graham Nash 1970

Mr. John C. Shimer


Mr. Henry V. Lione, FAHP


Mr. David B. Hanaman, FAHP


Mr. Jack G. Bryan, FAHP


Mr. John R. Vitello, FAHP


Mr. John A. Ireland


Mr. Milton J. Murray, FAHP


Brewster Terry


Mrs. Marilyn F. Erickson


Mr. Jack Herman, FAHP


Mr. William S. Roth, FAHP, ACFRE


Mr. Frank R. Hall, FAHP


Mr. John W. Dolan, FAHP


Mr. Don L. Albertson, FAHP


Mr. James G. Marshall, Jr., FAHP


Mr. William D. Seelye, FAHP


Ms. Mary D. Poole, FAHP


Mr. Jon B. Olson, FAHP


Mr. Norman L. Myers, FAHP


Mr. Charles W. Heim, Jr., FAHP


James M. Greenfield, FAHP, ACFRE


James Lewis Bowers, Ph.D.


Rev. Richard L. Reynolds, FAHP


Mr. John L. Good, III, FAHP


Mr. James E. Connell, FAHP, CSA


Mr. Gordon H. Durnan, FAHP


Mr. J. Lloyd Horton, FAHP


Mrs. Patricia Carnell


Mr. T. Richardson Miner, Jr., FAHP


Mr. Stuart R. Smith, FAHP


Mr. R. Glen Smiley, FAHP


Mr. Gene Attal, FAHP


Mr. Steven L. Mourning, FAHP


Ms. Sue Carruthers, FAHP


Mr. Douglas T. Picha


Mr. George F. Maynard, III, FAHP


Mr. Richard P. Bragga, J.D., CFRE, FAHP


Ms. Ann Thompson-Haas, FAHP


Mr. Sidney C. Mallory, FAHP


Holly H. Duncan, CFRE


Mr. Peter W. Ghiorsi, MBA, FAHP


Mr. Jerry A. Linzy


Mrs. Pearl F. Veenema, FAHP, CFRE


Ms. Susan J. Doliner, FAHP, CFRE 2014
Ms. Mary Anne Chern, FAHP, ACFRE 2015