Harold J. (Si) Seymour Award

"Leaders are the ones who keep faith with the past, keep step with the present, and keep the promise to posterity." – Harold J. Seymour

Si Seymour Logo

About the Award

The association’s highest honor, the AHP Si Seymour Award, recognizes distinguished leadership in association affairs and the healthcare philanthropy community. The award is in the name of Harold J. (Si) Seymour, one of the trailblazers in the world of philanthropy. He fostered and promoted exemplary standards of excellence for volunteerism and philanthropic support. His career spanned a half-century of fundraising on behalf of many worthy causes, from the National War Fund during World War II and Harvard University to youth groups, educational institutions, health organizations, and numerous community service projects. Seymour’s book, Designs for Fundraising, published in 1966, is regarded as the dogma of philanthropic fundraising to this day.

Since 1970, AHP presents its prestigious Harold J. (Si) Seymour Award to development professionals whose careers reflect excellence and outstanding leadership in healthcare philanthropy. This award is given annually and presented each year at the AHP International Conference.

Start Nomination 

Nominations are due July 1, 2022.

Award Criteria

The Award Committee uses six criteria in determining the winner. The candidate should:

  • Be a member in good standing, or a representative of a member firm in good standing, who has maintained development professional membership for a minimum of 10 years during their career
  • Be a successful fundraiser, demonstrated by documented dollars raised
  • Embody the recognized traits of leadership in our profession
  • Represent the profession well to other professionals and to the candidate’s community
  • Have made continuing contributions to the association by holding office, publishing articles, teaching at conferences, etc.
  • Have improved in some way the level of professionalism in the association 

Start Nomination

Nominations are due July 1, 2022.

Meet the 2021 Si Seymour Award Winner


Betsy Chapin Taylor, FAHP

Betsy Chapin Taylor, FAHP,  is an award-winning author, speaker, and consultant drawing on more than 25 years experience including 17 years as chief philanthropy officer and foundation president in academic, community, and children’s hospitals.  

Betsy serves as Founder and CEO of the healthcare management consulting firm Accordant, which specializes in health philanthropy, health governance, and community health. Betsy is author or editor of multiple books including Healthcare Philanthropy: Advance Charitable Giving to Your Organization’s Mission (Health Administration Press), Boards & Philanthropy: Developing the Next-Curve Revenue Source (American Hospital Association), Redefining Healthcare Philanthropy (Association for Healthcare Philanthropy), Advancing the CEO’s Role in Healthcare Philanthropy (American College of Healthcare Executives), Transforming Health Care Philanthropy (Association for Healthcare Philanthropy), and Systemization & Regionalization of Health Care Philanthropy (Association for Healthcare Philanthropy) and Systemization and Regionalization of Health Philanthropy 2.0 (Association for Healthcare Philanthropy). Her work has also been featured in national trade publications for healthcare management including Healthcare Executive, Trustee, BoardRoom Press, Modern Healthcare, H&HN Daily, The Chronicle of Philanthropy, FierceHealthFinance, Healthcare Philanthropy Journal, Chief Executive Officer, Becker’s Hospital Review, Pediatric Focus, Health Facilities Management, and more. 

Betsy has been a member of the Association for Healthcare Philanthropy since June 1995 and is honored to have earned her certification as a Fellow of the Association for Healthcare Philanthropy (FAHP). During her time with AHP, she has had the privilege to serve on a variety of committees including the executive search committee that hired our current president Alice Ayres, the Affiliate Member Committee, conference committees, thought leadership committees, and more. She was also thrilled to serve as Chair of the Health Philanthropy Journal committee.  Betsy is honored to have spoken at dozens of AHP International and Regional conferences over the years and to have attended almost every International Conference and track at the Madison Institute.She was also honored to serve as the volunteer editor or writer of four books that benefit AHP.  

Beyond her involvement with AHP, Betsy has been involved in advancing the profession as a faculty member for the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE), a presenter with American Hospital Association’s Speakers Express, a contributor of significant resources for the American Hospital Association’s trustee website, and a frequent speaker at conferences for healthcare, philanthropy and governance in the U.S., Canada, Europe and Australia. She has also served as a board member for the National Rural Health Association and as a committee chair for the Children’s Hospital Association. She is also a full professional member in the National Speaker’s Association, a member of the Forbes Nonprofit Council, and a certified speaker with ESpeakers.  

Betsy received a Master’s degree in journalism from Columbia University in New York and an MBA from the University of Georgia. 

Betsy lives with her husband Brent and 16-year old daughters Elise and Grace in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida.  

Watch Betsy's Award Presentation

Previous Si Seymour Award Winners

  • 1970

  • 1974

  • 1975

  • 1976

  • 1977

  • 1978

  • 1979

  • 1980

  • 1981

  • 1982

  • 1983

  • 1984

  • 1985

  • 1986

  • 1987

  • 1988

  • 1989

  • 1990

  • 1991

  • 1992

  • 1993

  • 1994

  • 1995

  • 1996

  • 1997

  • 1998

  • 1999

  • 2000

  • 2000 - Second Recepient

  • 2001

  • 2002

  • 2003

  • 2004

  • 2005

  • 2006

  • 2007

  • 2008

  • 2009

  • 2010

  • 2011

  • 2011 - Second Recipient

  • 2012

  • 2013

  • 2014

  • 2015

  • 2016

  • 2017

  • 2018

  • 2019

  • 2020