Joining the AHP Standards Committee

The AHP Standards Committee is now accepting applications for new members for 2020! The application is currently open and will close on Monday, June 8th. Applicants will be notified of their status in late July 2020.

Have questions about the Committee or the application process? Email us at

About the Standards Committee

The AHP Standards Committee is responsible for maintaining and revising the AHP Reporting Standards, including the AHP Standards Manual and any of its addenda. The Committee also announces any changes to the AHP Reporting Standards and communicates with the membership if clarity is needed or if there are questions about reporting data. 

The current AHP Standards Committee represents healthcare philanthropy professionals across the U.S. and two professionals representing other industry standards, including CASE and HFMA.

Eligibility Criteria

A strong candidate for the AHP Standards Committee will posses most or all of the following attributes:

  • Has demonstrated activity within AHP
  • Has relevant work experience, typically in a philanthropic healthcare organization or an organization with expertise in industry standards/finance
  • Has demonstrated expertise within at least one of the following areas: 
    • Fundraising
    • Gifts planning
    • Accounting/finance
    • Technology (donor management software, AI, or other data optimization tools)
    • Legal background
    • Healthcare leadership
    • Other industry standards outside of healthcare (higher education, accounting, and other industries)

Terms and Commitments

Each Standards Committee member must abide by the following terms and commitments: 

  • Will serve 2-year terms that are renewable for up to 3 consecutive terms. After the 6-year maximum, committee members must step down for at least 2 years before reapplying.
  • Will attend at least 1 Standards Committee meeting per month
  • Will attend at least 1 in person Standards Committee meeting during the annual AHP International Conference
  • Will attend any additional conference/in-person meetings as needed

For questions about the AHP Standards Committee or the application to join, please email us at

Application Timeline

  • May 4th, 2020: Application opens
  • June 8th, 2020: Application closes
  • July 20th, 2020 - July 24th, 2020: Applicants notified of status

AHP Standards Committee Members

Nancy Gregovich (Chair)
Foundation Operations Officer - Intermountain Foundation

David P. Wilke, CFRE (Vice Chair)
Chief Development Officer - Loyola Medicine

Mendal A. Bouknight (Immediate Past Chair)
Retired President - Piedmont Healthcare Foundation

Chuck Alsdurf, CPA 
Director, Healthcare Finance Policy, Operational Initiatives - Healthcare Financial Management Association

Carrie L. Boardwick, CFRE
System Director, Operations, Philanthropy - CommonSpirit Health

Tamra Buntrock 
System Vice President, Operations and Finance, Philanthropy - CommonSpirit Health

Amy H. Collard
Director, Operations - SSM Health Foundation – St. Louis

Nicole Thigpen Felix 
Senior Director, Campaign - Northwell Health Foundation

Joshua D. LaBorde
Director, Philanthropy Operations, Sutter Health

Cindy Moon-Barna, MLSIS 
Director, CASE Library - Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE)

Joel L. Simon, AEP
Director of Principal Gifts, LifeBridge Health